cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mgudites
Helper I
Helper I

App with "Form" connected to SharePoint list...can't get the layout right

I'm trying to build an app that we're going to use for invoicing. What I need is a 5x8 form (5 columns, 8 rows) that pushes data to a SharePoint list. I feel like I must be missing something easy here and I need some suggestions. The SharePoint connectivity part is already working, it's the layout of the form that's off.

1. With "Snap To" columns enabled, it'll only let me pick 4 or 6 columns for the layout. All I really need is 5 but that's fine, I can work with 6.

2. When I pick 6 columns, this is what it does (see pic). I'm by no means a PowerApps expert at this point but that looks like 3 columns to me. 

3. What's with all the white space / why is it so difficult to move fields around and just make this thing conform to the way I want it to look?!?

mgudites_4-1664896670808.png

All I'm ultimately looking for is to have a tightly spaced grid where users can enter this data, and it goes back to my SharePoint list. Why is this all so clunky / what am I missing? Is the built in "Form" feature not the ideal way to be doing this?

Here is an mockup of what I'm trying to get this to look like.

mgudites_5-1664897212592.png

6 REPLIES 6
RandyHayes
Super User
Super User

@mgudites 

If you are dealing with a single record - then the Form is the best component to use!!

Layout in the form is pretty generic.  There is not a lot of flexibility without a lot of work.

However, the good news is that you can use the Form (and all of its powerful features and functionality) but then use your own interface for it.

Take a look over this video on forms.  It is a very lengthy training video with just about everything you ever wanted to know about forms.