cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
wcoetsee
Regular Visitor

Are solutions independent of each other and does changing the dataverse change all solutions?

Hi All,

I am new to the power platform after first working with Power BI, and I am busy integrating Dynamics Sales app into our business processes. I am having some trouble understanding the relationship between solutions and the dataverse.

I follow that solutions are used in ALM, can be exported to other environments, and if I understand correctly there is one dataverse per environment so solutions will share the environment's dataverse.

Where I am getting stuck is when making changes to an app (adding entities, changing display names, customising forms/views etc.) should it be done in a solution or the dataverse, and why?

That is if a solution sits on top of the dataverse, will changing a column name in the dataverse make the change across all solutions? and the opposite if making a change in the solution does the dataverse change and will other solutions be affected?

I think all apps will use the same dataverse, but may only have certain entities of the dataverse. Then are solutions like different versions of the dataverse and components or the same dataverse but different components.

Thanks for any assistance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StalinPonnusamy
Community Champion
Community Champion

Q1: To clarify - changes to components in a solution will effect all solutions that contain those components? and would this also be the case when making changes to components of the dataverse outside of a solution, would then also effect solutions containing those components?

Ans: Yes, changes to components in a solution will affect all solutions that contain those components. And outside solution as well. Remember solution is just a reference (Container) pointer. This is for an unmanaged solution that is in a Dev environment.