cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Auto-Populate fields based on other field value entered

Hello,

I am very new to Powerapps. I have a simple question,

I have already connected excel table to my app. So when a user wants to submit a new form, based on the item number entered by the user, the product name field must be automatically filled in. The excel data base contains all the Item Numbers and the respective product names.

Looking forward for your support.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Microsoft
Microsoft

Re: Auto-Populate fields based on other field value entered

Hi@akashsaraswat19,

Based on the issue that you mentioned, I discovered that you have proposed a similar case which has been marked solved. Is there anything unsolved, could you please share more about your scenario?

We are used to using LookUp() when it comes to auto-populating one field based on another field filled. This function is easier and efficient.  

Since you mentioned that this autofill issue is related to submitting a new form, I think there is something different from the case you proposed before.

I have a test on my side, you can take a try as below.

Set the Default property of the data card belonging to product name as below

If(EditForm1.Mode=FormMode.New,LookUp(Employees,EmployeesId=DataCardValue3.Text,EmployeesName))​

On your side, you can write as below

If(EditForm1.Mode=FormMode.New,LookUp(Table1,ItemNumber=DataCardValue3.Text,ProductName))​

Note: DataCardValue3 represents by the control belonging to Item Numbers in your Form.

You can also check the GIF attachment for reference.0004.gif

Best Regards,

Qi

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
Community Champion
Community Champion

You will have to use a lookUp. Assuming Table1 is the Excel Table with ID and ProductName as columns.

If the user Input ID into Textbox1, then in Default of TextBox2, put: