Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous5
Helper II
Helper II

Barcode Scanner Assistance

Hello everyone,

I am new to Powerapps and would like some assistance using the Barcode Scanner. I have created a canvas app for inventory management based on a Sharepoint list. I have set up the BrowseGallery search box as I want it so it can locate records based on text-search by Title. From there I added the Barcode Scanner as a "Scan" button to the right of the search bar. My ideal goal here is as follows:

1. Have the Sharepoint list fully created with an "ID" Alphaneumeric string in the Title column.
  2. Create Barcode labels based on this "Title" field. Each warehouse item would get a label with the contents in the Sharepoint list under it's respective Title
  3. Use the scanner in the field on labels for inventory items to recall the record on the app so the person in the field can see what is in each wrapped pallet.
  4. I'd like for the the app to be able to utilize the Search Textbox as well for manual text entry.

From my limited understanding (and googling) I've set up the BarcodeScanner for OnScan to set a variable as "Set(varScan, BarcodeScanner1.Value)"

Then the BrowseGallery Items is set as "SortByColumns(Filter([@'Central Store Long-Term'], TextSearchBox1.Text in 'Item Qty. & Description'|| TextSearchBox1.Text in Title|| Title = varScan), "Created", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))"

In test, the text box search works normally and the Scan button will bring up the barcode scanner and it will appear to have scanned the barcode but there is no change to the list and it does not change the view of the gallery to filter for the correct entry.

Couple things:

• Can anyone help me narrow down the correct bit of language to make the scanner work to filter down to the proper entry?