cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
martinav
Community Champion
Community Champion

Best way to store and manipulate very large lists of data.

I have had some experience now with some moderate sized databases.  I have a situation where I have a very large list.  Currently 80,000 rows.  This will grow every year by 10,000.  I want this app to be able to do basic searches on the entire list.  Nothing ultra complex, but simple individual IDs, date range, by match in one column or progressive column matches.

I have used SQL (through on-prem), and sharepoint online.  To me, it seems that SQL is much more suited for large lists.  However, the on-prem can be a challenge.  But also isnt SQL more flexible with regards to delegation?  

I'm curious on some suggestions.

Thank you!

13 REPLIES 13
RandyHayes
Super User
Super User

@martinav 

Delegation is going to be pretty much the same between SQL and SharePoint.  There are minor differences, but not significant.

What is more significant with SQL is that you can create filtered views of your data and then use that as a datasource.

If your criteria for your filters works against delegable columns - and your result set is less than 2000 (same for any datasource), then SharePoint can work fine if you are trying to avoid the on-prem scenario.

Keep in mind that you have to contend with record limits and delegation.  These are two different things.  All app are constrained by 2000 record limits.  You can never bring back more than 2000.  However, if you have the ability to pre-filter via delegable criteria that will result in less than 2000, then you can post filter with non-delegable criteria against that record set.

So, the above is relatively generic and applies to both SharePoint and SQL.

I hope this is helpful for you.

_____________________________________________________________________________________