Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Poseidon10
Helper I
Helper I

Breaking down fields

Hello all,

I am pretty new to PowerApps and need some help.  I'll try to describe it as easy as possible.

I have a lookup column in SharePoint that is getting the values of the dropdown from a separate list. The values look similar to this: 123 - abc - def - 456

I need the dropdown to only display "123 - abc"

THEN I need to autopopulate another column with "def", then in a third column autopopulate "456".  The second and third column do not need to appear in the PowerApps but I am wondering if I still need to configure this in PowerApps then just not display the fields in the form?

Thank you for any help you can provide and ill answer any questions.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
v-qiaqi-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Poseidon10,

Do you want to split the LookUp column value into three parts and assign the two of them into separate column?

Could you please tell me that if you want to split the whole dropdown list values?

Actually, if you want the LookUp column only display part of the droddown list values, I don't think making itself a LookUp column is a good choice. Of course since I'm not sure about your build of your app, there are likely to be limitations to my ideas. In any case, let's try how to filter a LookUp column.

Add a button to create a collection by setting the OnSelect property as below:

ClearCollect(
    dfg,
    AddColumns(
        Split(
            Concat(
                String.Title,
                Title,
                ","
            ),
            ","
        ),
        "Part1",
        Concat(
            FirstN(
                Split(
                    Result,
                    "-"
                ),
            ).Result,
            Result,
            "-"
        ),
        "Part2",
        Last(
            FirstN(
                Split(
                    Result,
                    "-"