cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mogulman52
Level: Powered On

CDS vs Azure SQL Database

I'm just getting started looking at Powerapps.  I'm trying to figure the pros/cons of using CDS vs. Azure SQL Server.  My application is small, basically 3 tables (entities) with less than 200 records in each table.  Less than 2Mb DB.  From a cost perspective a low end Azure SQL Server instance is less than $10/month.  For CDS I need a Powerapps Plan 2 and around 5 Powerapps Plan 1 licenses so around $75/month.

The process I want to automate is surprising complex with lots of steps, tasks, emails etc. It has a lot of date calculations with many of them being Business days from a certain date.  I have yet to figure that out in CDS or Powerapps.  I can do that with a trigger or stored procedure in SQL Server.  If I find any other limitations I can always resort to T-Sql or T-Sql can call a C# program.

Can someone better help me understand pros/cons?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: CDS vs Azure SQL Database

I am strongly for Azure SQL Database. Current CDS is still lacking many things to replace SQL Database.

Check out my post in this thread on why I think Azure SQL is better than CDS.

View solution in original post

Super User
Super User

Hi @mogulman52

Azure SQL would also be my database of choice. Here's my take on this....

CDS
The main benefit of the CDS is that it's simple to use. For non-developers, these benefits include:

• The ability to design tables via a web based designer - no need to install/learn SQL Management Studio
  • Management of permissions through a web interface
  • Access to pre-built data structures/entities for common tasks like sales, invoicing, and helpdesk.
  • The ability to access data through an Excel addin
  • The simplicity of having a database that's attached to an environment - no need to configure Azure firewall, or to understand 'database connection strings'