cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Filistyn
Helper V
Helper V

Calculating rows in sharepoint list (variable set)

Hey! I have a sharepoint list:

data.png

And I need a code, that calculates people in my department.

For example, I am a Manager from Finance / IT, I log in into the app and OnStart, there is a variable, and the value of that variable is how many people are in my department including me. So if there are 5 people in the SP list, which has department value "Finance / IT", the var value will be 5.

Could someone help?

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Irfan
Resolver II
Resolver II

Hi @Filistyn 

To begin with, I would suggest to make an email address as a unique identifier amongst your records. You can have 2 people with same name but they will always have different email addresses. I have added an extra column to your list of columns which stores each users email address.

On your app OnStart
Set(LoggedinUserEmail, User().Email);
This will store the email address of the user who has logged in the variable LoggedinUserEmail.

Next, you need to lookup which department you belong to. Again, I am presuming you belong to only one department. Below code will store your department in the LoggedinUserDept variable
Set(LoggedinUserDept,LookUp(Employees,Email=LoggedinUserEmail));

Finally, you can create a collection which will filter the records from your datasource.

Set(FilteredData,Filter(Employees,Department=LoggedinUserDept.Department))

The above collection will give you list of the records which matches your department including yours. You can than use this data as required in your app.

Thanks.

-Irfan

View solution in original post

Irfan
Resolver II
Resolver II

PS: 

CountRows(FilteredData) will give you the total no of rows in the filtered collection.

-Irfan

@Filistyn ,

You are correct - must not have had my brain engaged properly when I activated the keyboard - I will have another go

With(
   {
      wDept: