cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Rubber_Duck
Regular Visitor

Canvas App - Clear Fields Based on Choice Column Answer

Hi all,

I'm very new to PowerApps, so I'm helping someone can help me.

I have a Canvas App built from a SharePoint Custom List. The app contains a choice field, which includes only two options - 'yes' and 'no'. A number of subsequent fields (another choice field, a multi-line text field and a date/time field) are set to only become visible when the 'yes' option is selected in the initial choice field. This is working fine.

The problem I have is finding a method of clearing/resetting the three subsequent fields if the user later edits the form and changes the initial choice field to 'no'. The subsequent fields are being re-hidden successfully in this scenario, but they still contain the data from the initial submission. 

I've tried using an If condition to change the Reset property on the subsequent fields to 'true' when the value of the initial choice field is 'no', but this doesn't seem to work. 

This is stopping me from being able to use the app, so if someone can help me solve it it would be big help.

Thanks.     

34 REPLIES 34
phipps0218
Super User
Super User

Reset(fieldName) or use a variable and set the variable to blank.

Please accept this as a solution.

WarrenBelz
Super User
Super User

Hi @Rubber_Duck ,

Change the Reset of the controls you want cleared to a Variable (I will use varReset) and then on the OnChange of the first control,

If(
   Self.Selected.Value = "no",
   UpdateContext({varReset: true})
)

Also at Screen OnVisible

UpdateContext({varReset: false})

The Default of these controls should be

If(
   varReset,
   Blank(),
   ThisItem.FieldName
)

if you are displaying existing information in them.