cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Canvas App with multiple CDS Entities

Hi,
I am very new to PowerApps. Following is my requirement.

Create a workflow system with multiple approvals and I am planning to use CDS.
Each request has a running number as the id. Each request have multiple level of approvals(eg: 4 level)

Do I need to have,
a) A primary  entity which have the information about the request, ie, request number, request details etc.

b) Multiple related entity for with request number, approver  details, status, data/time stamp, other fields. I need to have 4 such entity for approver 1, approver 2, approver 3 and approver 4?

The reason I believe, I need to have multiple CDS entities for each approval is because any one approver reject or push the workflow to rework. Then the workflow has to push back to the previous approver. Hence I believe need to capture the entire history/audit log of each transactions by each approver at various stages of workflow.

Can you help me know how can I  achieve this? In a conventional java/.net application I can create multiple tables in sql database and can link these tables via primary key/foreign keys.

Hence my question will be, do I need to create
a) Project Entity, Approver 1 Entity, Approver 2 Entity, Approver 3 Entity ,Approver 4 Entity? If so, will CDS Relationship  will help to make the application data source simpler?Something like one-to-many mapping? Because I need to link the data with the unique request number across entities? or
b)  Single Entity is required to design the whole application and I need to use filter out the gallery based on some criteria?

Please excuse me if I am asking a wrong question or I am totally wrong in understanding the CDS concept as I am new to powerapps.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SeanHenderson
Power Participant
Power Participant

Hi @Anonymous 

Let's try to unpack this a little bit.