cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
arguerra
Regular Visitor

Check box updates SharePoint list on individual record

Here is what I am working on.

The user will be able to create a new record with their name as the subject or title of that record. Once created, they should be able to access their record and update check boxes on tasks they have completed and save this.

The issue I am having is the check box, when selected, is creating a whole new record on the SharePoint list and not updating the record they created. Also the check box is just putting a 1 or a 0 on the record instead of the text I would like it to add.

Issues

1. Have check box update current record and not create new records on SharePoint list

2. Have check box update SharePoint list with text instead of a 1 or 0

I am really new to Power Apps and have created apps to reference lists but nothing this extensive on updating records.

Any help would be appreciated.

13 REPLIES 13
AmDev
Super User
Super User

Hi @arguerra  - Can you send through details of the code you are using at present along with a screen shot of the arrangement?

Thanks

AJ_Z
Super User
Super User

Could we also get column names for sharepoint lists and name of list in the app

If you appreciated my comments/responses please be sure to Like/Kudo them it really does make me smile 🙂 !

arguerra
Regular Visitor

@AmDev  I currently do not have anything connecting my app check box to my SP list as I was about to throw my laptop out the window lol.

Below is a screen shot of my list columns and currently how my check box, when checked, displays a completed button.

arguerra_0-1639588991585.png

arguerra_1-1639589013103.png

arguerra_1-1639591068628.png

AJ_Z
Super User
Super User

What should the checkbox populate in the form. If 0 what should it be and if 1 what should it be?

If you appreciated my comments/responses please be sure to Like/Kudo them it really does make me smile 🙂 !

arguerra