cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Christiaan1981
Frequent Visitor

Check if item in collection is the same as in datasource

Hi, 

I am trying to show a check icon in a gallery if a value in a collection or textbox matches a value in an excel datasource (Table4), or if it doesn't match, a cancel icon. The goal is to show the user if there are any unsaved changes. I am still a bit new to powerapps so I don't understand some of the functions that well yet. I hope someone can help as I think this should not be a very difficult function.

- The gallery Items property is colShifts.

- texShiftInput.Text patches to the collection colShifts.Shift, which is saved to Excel Table4 collumn Shift.

- It would be nice if this formula also only applies if the texShiftInput.Text is not blank. 

What I think I need would be: 

If(And(!IsBlank(texShiftInput.Text),ThisItem.Shift = X),Icon.Check,Icon.Cancel) where X is the value of the shift in Excel Table 4.

What is the correct function for that? 

Here are some functions I tried to no avail... 

If(colShifts.Shift=ThisItem.Shift, Icon.Check, Icon.Cancel)

If(LookUp(Table4, Shift = texShiftInput.Text)), Icon.Check, Icon.Cancel)

If(And(!IsBlank(texShiftInput.Text),(LookUp(Table4, Shift = texShiftInput.Text))), Icon.Check, Icon.Cancel)

If(ThisItem.Shift=(!IsBlank(LookUp(Table4, ThisItem.Shift = colShifts.Shift, Icon.Check, Icon.Cancel))))

This one works, but as soon as the selection of a textinput box changes, it patches the collection so it matches again. 

If(And(!IsBlank(texShiftInput.Text),ThisItem.Shift = texShiftInput.Text),Icon.Check,Icon.Cancel)

Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Christiaan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Drrickryp
Super User II
Super User II

Hi @Spamrancher 

First, add an ID column to your table.  It could be a sequence of unique numbers that are not reused if a row is deleted.  Then do a ClearCollect(colShifts,Table4) to restore your collection,