cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AndyDickson
Frequent Visitor

Clear Collection once Patch successful

Hi,

I am fairly new to powerapps and am trying to build an App which holds records in a local collection, patches them to a SharePoint list then clears the list once the Patch has been executed successfully. I am happy with the Patch syntax however I cant work out how to initiate any follow up behavior once the patch has been successful, ie clear collection, post error message etc.

I have pasted my Patch below wich is currently triggered by pressing a button although I aim to build this into the workflow later once I understand the syntax required for this: ('LocalVisits' is the collection and 'PPM Visit Records' is the Sharepoint list with matching fields)

ForAll(

LocalVisits,

Patch(

'PPM Visit Records',

Defaults('PPM Visit Records'),

{

Title: Title,

Start_Time: Start_Time,

Visit_Region: Visit_Region,

Visit_Location: Visit_Location,

Team_Size: Team_Size,

Activity: Activity,

Comments: Comments,

Latitude: Latitude,

Longitude: Longitude

}

)

)

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

4 REPLIES 4
pontusofsweden
Resolver IV
Resolver IV

Hi!

To clear the collection after the patch operation, just add the Clear function after Patch. See my addition below in red:

ForAll(

LocalVisits,

Patch(

'PPM Visit Records',

{

}

)

;Clear(LocalVisits)

BR

Pontus

Many thanks for the response.

Will this only clear the collection if the patch is successful or will it clear it regardless? My concern is that if for some reason the patch is not successful the records will be lost with no warning.

Thanks

Andy 

Hi,

No this removes the records regardless.

However, since the Patch function returns the patched record, you could use a Collect function (new collection) to fetch the successful records and the use it to remove recors from LocalVisits. So, it´s a 2 step rocket:

ForAll(

LocalVisits,

Collect(RemoveRecords,

Patch(