Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DaftNewb
Helper I
Helper I

Combining strings from labels with comma

Hello everyone,

i was doing a few formulas on powerapps that i'm trying to combine, for text purposes i've made one for each ComboBox(that goes from 1 to 10).

I want to unite them using a comma for example (string1),(string2) and like the example the expected result is to have commas only in between the content.

I was trying to use Concatenate but if for example they are out of order the result can look like this :

,(string3),(string5),(string7), or ,(string6),

wich is not what i expect as result.

Is there a better way of doing this? i'm quite new at powerapps and this problem looks like it must have a pretty obvious solution but i don't know how to make it.

Thanks in advance for every help given.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

There are a few ways to get the result you desire, a quick and basic one is to use IsBlank

one way to do it is: Concatenate(If(!IsBlank(ComboBox1.Selected.Value1),","&ComboBox1.Selected.Value1),If(!IsBlank(Dropdown1.Selected.Value),","&Dropdown1.Selected.Value))

what this is saying is concatenate all of this where it is not blank and add a comma before it. you realistically do not need to use concatenate you could just use & and combine the ifs together with that but either is fine. So to add another to concatenate is just as simple as adding another , and if like this:

Concatenate(If(!IsBlank(ComboBox1.Selected.Value1),","&ComboBox1.Selected.Value1),If(!IsBlank(Dropdown1_1.Selected.Value),","&Dropdown1_1.Selected.Value),If(!IsBlank(Dropdown1.Selected.Value),","&Dropdown1.Selected.Value))

So the below gets rid of the commas that have no values as mentioned.

Concatenate(
    If(
        !IsBlank(ComboBox1.Selected.Value1),
        "," & ComboBox1.Selected.Value1
    ),
    If(
        !IsBlank(Dropdown1.Selected.Value),
        "," & Dropdown1.Selected.Value
    )
)