cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
danbarrett
Frequent Visitor

Components across environments

Hello,

I am quite new to PowerApps and developing my first canvas app that has multiple SharePoint data sources.  I am trying to figure out the best ALM strategy and have setup three environments for Dev, Staging and Production.  I have practiced moving from Dev to Staging using a managed Solution and SharePoint data source environment variables which works great.  I also have about three component libraries that are used in the app and I included these in the solution package, and they seemed to come across fine but the app is still referencing the components in the dev environment.  Any ideas how components libraries are meant to be managed across environments?

6 REPLIES 6
v-xiaochen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @danbarrett ,

Please try this:

1\ In environment A edit your component library.

vxiaochenmsft_0-1624328172178.png

2\ Choose Save as ->This Computer to download your component library.

vxiaochenmsft_1-1624328290239.png

3\ Go to environment B. Create a canvas app and choose Open->Browse to import the  component library.

vxiaochenmsft_2-1624328440907.png

Finally, Save the component library to cloud.

vxiaochenmsft_3-1624328494269.png

Now the environment B has the component library.

Best Regards,
Wearsky
If my post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help others. Thanks.

Hi, thanks for your reply.  I followed your instructions and made a copy of the component library in environment B, however:

If I then make a change to the component library it does not update in my app.  If I make a change to the original component library in environment A it will filter through and update my app in environment B.  So the library components in my app is pointing to environment A.

How can I import solutions through environments that are referencing component libraries?

Thanks

v-xiaochen-msft