Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SaifAli
Helper III
Helper III

Connection Issues - Individual user authentication and access

Hi Team,

So I am new to Power apps and i'm creating an app which actually maps the inputs from the frontend with a backend file on One drive and then posts the mapped data to a REST API 

For this I'm using power apps in the front to capture the inputs from user and then using power automate to map the inputs and send it to a 3rd party REST API.

The issue is that the connector "One Drive" actually uses a service account credentials for authentication and the mappings are stored in an excel there which needs to be pulled. When I share this app with another user they are prompted to authenticate connections with their individual accounts. Now if they authenticate then the One drive connection would be their individual one drive which doesn't have the mappings file.

For Ex  as seen below : 

InkedMicrosoftTeams-image (24)_LI.jpg

For security concerns i can't share that mappings file to all the users using my power app. Its just a backend database used by the app.

Is there a way i can use my default service account to authenticate in the one drive ??

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
BCLS776
Super User
Super User

Based on what you've shared, only half of your problem can be solved through Power Apps. One of the key features of the platform is that security is tied to the credentials of the user logged in to the app. So, if users need a certain file to use the app properly, then they need access to that file. This also means they can access the file directly if they go looking for it. There is no completely effective way to thwart that.

Instead of OneDrive, consider storing the file on Sharepoint, which is not segregated by users. The same file in a single location can be shared amongst your entire user group.

Hope that helps,

Bryan

_________________________________________________________________________________________