cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Helper I
Helper I

Controls not updating after patching a SharePoint item

Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I'm new to PowerApps and have been given the task of creating a support portal where customers would log a ticket in a SharePoint list and the support team would then process the ticket via a canvas app in MS Teams.

The app's homescreen is a gallery that shows all the tickets, clicking on a ticket takes you to a new screen where the various SharePoint fields are shown in labels. I am not using a form because the idea is the support team must process the tickets following a predefined process and thus should not be able to edit any of the fields directly. Rather, depending on the ticket status different buttons will be active that will update the different fields.

The problem I'm running into is that after patching a field the change is not reflected in the label on the screen. It's only after I navigate back to the homescreen and click on the ticket again that I see the updated information.

Things that you'll want to know:

The OnSelect property of my gallery is set to:

Set(varItem,ThisItem);Navigate(scrTicketDetails)

You can see I'm not using the gallery.Selected method because this caused the selected item to change to the first item in the gallery after patching, also mentioned in this post. Setting the selected item to a variable solves that, at least.

The OnSelect property of the button that "Activates" the ticket is set to:

Patch(
    Externals2,
    varItem,
    {Status:
        {
        Value: "Active",
        '@odata.type': "#Microsoft.Azure.Connectors.SharePoint.SPListExpandedReference"}
        }
    )