cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Create an app to give ticket number

Hi,

I am new at PowerApps, but I am usually a good self-teached and fast learner. 

So I want to create an app that would ask the user for information (Name, date, request...) and that would save this information into an Excel Workbook Table.

Then, the app would give the user the next available "Ticket number".

Before launching the project, I would like to know if PowerApps can input data into an Excel Workbook?

Can it keep count of numbers and give out the next available?

Any existing template that anyone would like to suggest? 

Right now, there are 10 people (future users) who are calling me to have the next number in line and I need to input all this information myself, I am looking for a solution. 

3 REPLIES 3
Power Apps Staff LukeW-MSFT
Power Apps Staff

Re: Create an app to give ticket number

Hello!

I am not sure about an app directly backed by an excel (it is easy to pull in data from a static excel sheet but writing to it is another matter), but I think a relatively easy way to get yourself started would be to build a Sharepoint list with the columns of data you want (name, date, request,...). An example Sharepoint list of mine:

image.png

Then, once you have created the SharePoint list, build an app using the SharePoint option on powerapps.com:

image.png

This will automatically build an app for you with 3 screens. Most important for your purposes is probably the Edit Screen, where a user of the app can fill out the form and submit their info which will then go to the sharepoint list.

At some point later, you can go back to the sharepoint list (which should now contain all that user information) and "Export to Excel"

This is a rough outline but it should help get you started creating an app for this purpose.

As for the ticket number part...