cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mikepilgrim
Level: Power Up

Create documents from powerapps

Hello 

I am new to powerapps and I have a very simple question which doesn't seem to be answered anywhere 

My business is editing fiction books. I produce a Word doc report for my clients about their book. A lot of this is standard paragraphs which can be stored in a database and then mail merged into a document. And some has to be written / edited. I can do this with access and word but I want my employees to be able to produce their own text doc reports using the same database of paragraphs. Can I do this with powerapps? I don't know how to code. 

The report document is made from a bank of multiple fields and is structured the same each time. 

For example, let's say there's a section of the report called 'dialogue issues' - When my staff go on the app, I would like them to have a drop down selection of: 'no issues', 'minor issues' or 'lots of issues' then depending which they select the correct paragraph is inserted into the document. Or inserted into the database and then I can produce the document from the answers they've given. 

They'd also need the ability to edit the text provided from their selection. 

Is that possible and how difficult / easy is it? 

7 REPLIES 7
mikepilgrim

Re: Create documents from powerapps

Also, my employees work remotely 

@mikepilgrimIt is possible to take metadata from PowerApps and write it to a Word Document. The document will not update if you make changes. 

I'm working on a process right now, but it's rather time consuming. 

mikepilgrim

@BrendonBrooksP1 

Thanks Brendon 

If it makes it easier, my employees could maybe just update the database (with fields pre-filled in depending on their selection, and they can add to / edit) and then I could produce the document myself based on the fields they provide? 

Are you working on it for me? Or are you just generally working on it?