Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Federal
Level: Powered On

Create filtered views like Sharepoint

Hi,

completely new to this, so please be gentle. I have a sharepoint list that I have created an app from. All going fine except I can't get to grips with the syntax (I have no experience in this field at all). In my sharepoint list called "Job Sheet" I have 3 views that show the matching records from a dropdown, Active, Completed and Closed. This column is named "Job Status", but I must have renamed it from an existing one as it comes up in the app as IssueStatus when I look at the detail screen or edit screen.

I just wanted to either filter everything so I only show active items, or add in a dropdown that I can select any of the views.

So far I've been working along the lines of adding a checkbox that when checked would hopefully filter out anything other than items where the dropdown column shows "Active" but it just keeps complaining that the syntax is wrong.

So far I have tried this (don't laugh I've been googling for hours) Filter('Job Sheet', IssueStatus.Value="Active") and variations, bits copied from other solutions etc. but I really am missing something here.

Any help or pointing me in the direction of instructions for absolute beginners would be appreciated.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Meneghino
Level 10

Re: Create filtered views like Sharepoint

Hi @Federal, we were all beginners once.  PowerApps works differently from anything else I used before, but once you get used to it, you can do some great things.

Frankly I can't see why Filter('Job Sheet', IssueStatus.Value="Active") doesn't work, seems right to me.

Can you please send a screenshot of where you use this code?  It should be the Items property of a gallery.  If you are trying to place this code in the dropdown properties, then that is where you are going wrong and where it will take a while to get used to how things work in PA.