cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Julie_K

Data source is an imported excel sheet - Unable to Edit fields in ChangeForm Screen

Hello all, I am a beginner user of power apps and walking myself through the microsoft modules (eg. "create a canavas app in power apps") to learn.  I keep getting stuck on the ChangeForm screen - the app will not let me edit fields.  I am wondering if this is because my data source is a static excel spreadsheet in a personal LAN folder?  Does it need to be in a cloud-based storage location for this feature to work? Are there settings I need to change on the spreadsheet to allow power apps to write to the xls?  I don't currently have access to my company's cloud-based storage to save the excel sheet like the instructions say to do.  

Thanks for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
WarrenBelz
Super User
Super User

Hi @Julie_K ,

If you import data from Excel into the app, there is no way of saving it as anything you change will be lost when you close the app. In the case of Excel, you can store the file on your OneDrive (company), format the required data as a table and then link to that as a Data Source.

Please click Accept as solution if my post helped you solve your issue. This will help others find it more readily. It also closes the item. If the content was useful in other ways, please consider giving it Thumbs Up.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
timl
Super User
Super User

Hi @Julie_K 

Yes, you're correct. Static Excel spreadsheets are non-editable.

If you want to edit an Excel data source from an app, you'll need to store it somewhere like OneDrive.

WarrenBelz
Super User
Super User

Hi @Julie_K ,