cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Data validation before posting in data base

Hi All,

I am fairly new with powerapp and app level coding and needed some help. I am trying to create a simple employee scheduling tool for my team. The idea is different Asst. managers will request for a employee to work on a time bound assignment and the managers will approve this request in the system.

I am facing the following problems.

1) What data base i should use. I have started with an excel data base linked to my one drive but reading posts here i am no longer sure whether thats the best idea

2) I have to build a validation to check whether a employee is not actually booked on that day by someone else. So in the form when the user selects the from and to date it needs to go back to my data base and see whether he is booked by someone else and give a response to the user.

3) What is the best way to control access to be given. Requestor and approver need to have different screens   

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @kartikfabiani ,

For your first question, based on my experience, I think the Excel table stored in OneDrive folder is not better choice. Firstly, Excel table is a slow data source, which would not have advantages in querying data from data source than other data source e.g. SharePoint, CDS, etc.

In addition, the Excel table is not a Delegable data source, in other words, it would be subject to Delegation limit -- could only process 2000 records at most locally in an app, could not delegate data process to Excel table from your app.

You could consider use SharePoint List or Common Data Service Entity instead of your original Excel table.

For your second question, I think the LookUp function could achieve your needs. Please consider set the OnChange property of the To DatePicker control in your Edit form to following:

Set(
    BookedRecord, 
    First(Filter(