cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
azertyqwerty
Regular Visitor

Default of Dropdown returns value of the wrong record

Hey everyone,

I am new to learning PowerApps, so forgive me if my question is silly, but I can't seem to figure it out. 

I have a gallery with the items property set to a collection named colTest.

This collection contains two columns: Name and Number 

Schermafbeelding 2021-10-22 om 14.30.14.png

Then I added a DropDown with the items property set to colTest. 

When I reset this DropDown, I want it to select the second record of my collection. 

Schermafbeelding 2021-10-22 om 14.31.36.png

Therefore, I set the default property of this DropDown to be: LookUp(colTest; Number = "Number 2").Name

This doesn't work. When I reset this DropDown, it just selects the first record again.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RandyHayes
Super User
Super User

@azertyqwerty 

So the thing about selecting a Dropdown default is that you only have to match string to string - AND it must be on the string being displayed.  You cannot match on a column in the Items records that is not displayed.  Unlike a combobox where you have to match record to record.

So, in your case, the varRecord already has what you need in it.  You can set your Default property to : varRecord.Name

But, given that you have non-unique names, this will not match what you want in the Dropdown.  The reason is, the Dropdown will only match the first record that contains the value you are specifying to match.  In other words, the fact that you want record #2 in your example is not relevant to the dropdown because you are ultimately deriving the Name to match...which it will - the first one.

My suggestion would be to augment the displayed value in the dropdown to be something that is unique - if that is at all possible.  i.e.  Name 1 (number 1) and Name 1 (number 2)