Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Alfie_Smith
Helper I
Helper I

Delegation query - Would this work?

Hi there,

I am rather new to PowerApps, and have been tasked with making an application for a sharepoint list that is around 2.3k in size. 

I have been looking into how to make the application, and stumbled upon delegation, which in truth has been confusing me a small tad. 

My question is as follows - lets say I had a gallery using datasource 'Table1' (2.3k in size). In this gallery, I used a filter. The filter makes it so that the gallery only shows data where a column equals x.

e.g. Filter( Table1, Example = "x" )

The gallery will now only show 500-700 rows out of the 2.3k.  Now, I know that Filter is delegable, and the size of the datasource isn't an issue (I think!). By this point, I have set the data row limit to 1000 in the advanced settings.

The question is this. If I were to use non-delegable functions to filter this gallery at its filtered size, would I face issues where all of the data isn't showing? 

Please correct me and inform me of where I'm wrong - I'm not sure whether this would be allowed and the question might not make sense due to my lack of understanding of delegation in the first place. 

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
WarrenBelz
Super User III
Super User III

Hi @Alfie_Smith ,

You are on the right track with your enquiries to manage delegation issues. Also, you can increase the limit to 2000 if required.

If you have not read this document, it is a very good place to start.

But, back to your question. If you can get a filtered list to under 2000 items, then you can Collect it and then all queries, delegable or not, will work. Your example involves a text field, where both the field type and the operator (equals) are delegable.

To collect it, use 

ClearCollect(
   colWhatever,
   Filter(
      Table1, 
      Example = "x" 
   )
)