Department

ROLES

Department (lookup from DEPARTMENTS)

Role

APPROVERS

Department (lookup from DEPARTMENTS)

Role (lookup from ROLES)

Name

I used PowerApps to edit the APPROVERS form, so that Role will be a dependent dropdown from ROLES based on the value from APPROVERS.Department.

With connections to APPROVERS and ROLES, after a lot of fidgeting I found a syntax that the Items field of the dropdown accepts: "Filter(ROLES,Departament.Value=DataCardValue1.Selected.Value)", where DataCardValue1 is the default ComboBox for APPROVERS.Department. This still throws up a warning about large data sets.

My problem now is that using the live form for a new item in APPROVERS, I select a Department, and the Roles dropdown return the correct number of items, but they are all blank. I have attached a screenshot that illustrates the issue, names are in Romanian.

I'm a complete beginner at what I'm trying to do, and I lack the knowledge to even begin to understand why I get a populated, blank dropdown.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Advocate I
Advocate I

After a good night's nightmare, I figured out that my Items formula was missing a direction towards a specific column from the results. I searched thorugh the formulas documentation and ended up with

ShowColumns(Filter(ROLES,Departament.Value=DataCardValue1.Selected.Value),"Title")

This finally makes the dropdown display the correct items. Now I have a different issue of the dropdown not passing the value to the list column, but I'll open a different thread for this.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Advocate I
Advocate I

After a good night's nightmare, I figured out that my Items formula was missing a direction towards a specific column from the results. I searched thorugh the formulas documentation and ended up with

ShowColumns(Filter(ROLES,Departament.Value=DataCardValue1.Selected.Value),"Title")