cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Fnu Helper I
Helper I

Display items of specific field value based on buttons selected in previous screen

Hello all, 

I'm new to PowerApps and I need help in my app. 

I'm using sharepoint as the backend of my powerapp. My list has fields Title, Description, Category and Date. 

On the PowerApp, I have one screen that lists different categories in the form of buttons. What I'm looking for is to allow user to click on more than one buttons to select the different categories of items they want to see and then on the next screen display all the items of the categories that are selected. 

Any hints on how I can achieve this? 

I've tried using collect and patch but I keep getting an error. Not sure what I'm doing wrong. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Display items of specific field value based on buttons selected in previous screen

@Fnu

I was not sure if Category was a Single Line Text column or a Choices column in SharePoint.  Try this instead.

Filter(your_datasource_name, Category.Value = currentCategory)

If you don't want the buttons to send the user to the next screen simply remove the Navigate code from each one.

Set(currentCategory, "Active");

---
Please click "Accept as Solution" if my post answered your question so that others may find it more quickly. If you found this post helpful consider giving it a "Thumbs Up."

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Super User
Super User

Re: Display items of specific field value based on buttons selected in previous screen

@Fnu 

For this design you will require one button for each Category and a Gallery to display information from the list.  Try this example

Create a new button for each category.  Put this code in the OnSelect property.  Change the 2nd parameter to match the Category name found in your SharePoint list.

Navigate(Screen2, None);