cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Altontait
Regular Visitor

Display values from dropdown

Hi Guys: I'm new at this and I would really appreciate any help.

I'm trying to create this app to display the distance between two locations. I have everything stored in a list called mileage_distance please see a snap of my list below.

Milage Distance.png

I created two dropdown boxes for the user to select From their current location To their final Location. Please see the snap below

Altontait_0-1626371433395.png

When the user selects From and To, The value associated with those two locations should display in the "Value should display here" text box.  For Example, I selected From Board Office To ALP therefore the value 3.3 should display in the "Value should display here" text box.

Thanks for your help in advance.

7 REPLIES 7
Krishna_R
Resolver IV
Resolver IV

Hi @Altontait ,

try this in your label value

Lookup(mileage_distance, Title = dropdown1.selected.value, dropdown2.selected.value).dropdown2.selected.value

GarethPrisk
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Not sure how often your locations will change, but I recommend you refactor your data. Otherwise you'll always be adding columns to account for locations, and rows.

Instead:

• From Location
  • To Location
  • Distance

This way, you would be simply filtering (as a Lookup) the list based on the drop down values.

If you added a new location, it would simply be a case of adding the rows for that new location relative to the existing locations, instead of also having to add columns and update the app.

Data first!

Hi @Krishna_R 

I'll let u know if this works in a bit, I'm away from my computer rn. 

Hi @GarethPrisk 

I'll look into this but the location and the distance will always be the same. The list of FROM locations is the same as the list of TO location. 

GarethPrisk
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Correct.