cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PaulMugs
Frequent Visitor

Displaying two tables from SQL Server in one screen

I have created a simple PowerApp that at current allows me to search through a list of individuals, then navigate to a screen detailing that specific individual.  I want to add a gallery/data table to the bottom of the second screen to show records (from another table) that refer to the individual being viewed.  

I am really new to PA, so am sure its my lack of experience and think the way to do this is to have a filter on the gallery/data table that references the ID being viewed, however am unsure how to reference it.  The issue might be that I started with the data model approach, I am also using SQL server and a gateway if that plays a part.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Drrickryp
Super User II
Super User II

Hi @PaulMugs 

Let's say your have two tables, Table1 and Table2.  These tables are in a one-to-many relationship and there is a foreign key in the Table2 that refers back to the primary key field or ID field of Table1, call it table1ID

On the first screen, you will have a gallery, say Gallery1 with an Items property Table1.   Inside the gallery, in the top row, place a ">" icon and set its OnSelect property to Navigate(Screen2,None,{personid:ThisItem.ID}). The element in the Navigate() function enclosed in curly braces creates a variable. in this case personid that will be carried to the second screen and identifies the record selected in Gallery1.  In this case personid could be any name you want to choose and it is an alias for the ID of the chosen record.

On Screen2 you can have a ViewForm that has the same datasource as Gallery1 and the Item property would be Lookup(datasource,ID=personid).  This can show all of the fields in Table1 for the record chosen in Gallery1.