cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
vernchan
Frequent Visitor

Dropdown Box & ComboBox Limitation (6/8): Data Row Limit for Item Property (maximum number of items reached)

Dear Community,

I'm fairly new to PowerApps, so forgive the lack of understanding. I have an issue which I hope there is either a practical workaround using AzureSQL or a quick fix on this as I've pored over this for the entire week and haven't found a workaround or a proper way to resolve this. 

Firstly if you can view the idea is that I have tables in Azure SQL which is largely populated with a data input table for consumption and another for reference during the user selection only for use during either New or Edit on the selected record itself by the line item. So, two tables one for user input and entry named [dbo] [GlobalDataStatus] and another few tables of the richest one is a VIEW type table in the SQL server which is [dbo] [distinctCity]- which is trying its best to return the values of the Cities - in perspective of USA - no judging here its just how my client wanted the solution to be.

Building the cities into states (just for the sake of capping the distinct records into less than 500 in qty is cumbersome) and all that will mean I need to re-purposing of the entire tables again. 

The solution for Cascading Dropdown is fairly simple in which the distinct selected value starts with the Parent = Region , Child = United States of America , City = Nashville. Here's where it gets hairy, I've seem that setting the data row limit in Advanced Settings in PowerApp - only allows up to 2000 rows to be displayed/returned on the app itself and no more. Keeping this in mind, the standard dropdown box only drags down up to 500 records (out of a needed 3183 records to be exact). 

However, the distinct filter worked well in that it returned Nashville which is record number 1902 "phew". Kinda weird... or maybe I'm not understanding something here.