cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ouryuusama
Frequent Visitor

During Edit, Fields Display Default Values Instead of Submitted Values

Hello, I am relatively new to Powerapps. I did a from which is integrated to my Sharepoint List. I have set default values for some fields for easier input during creation of item but still editable. My problem is after submission of an item and I try to edit a certain item from the list, the form displays the default values instead of the values I submitted. Looking forward to your kind assistance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
WarrenBelz
Super User
Super User

Hi @Ouryuusama ,

In the Default, you need to allow for the Mode of the Form

If(
   FormName.Mode = FormMode.New,
   "YourDefaultHere",
   Parent.Default
)

Please click Accept as solution if my post helped you solve your issue. This will help others find it more readily. It also closes the item. If the content was useful in other ways, please consider giving it Thumbs Up.

Visit my blog Practical Power Apps

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
WarrenBelz
Super User
Super User

Hi @Ouryuusama ,

In the Default, you need to allow for the Mode of the Form

If(
   FormName.Mode = FormMode.New,
   "YourDefaultHere",
   Parent.Default
)

Please click Accept as solution if my post helped you solve your issue. This will help others find it more readily. It also closes the item. If the content was useful in other ways, please consider giving it Thumbs Up.

You mean I have to set this formula to the Default property of every field?

@Ouryuusama ,

If you want to have a different value on the particular control when the form is in New Mode (I assume that is what you want), yes. Also it may be DefaultSelectedItems (Combo Boxes) or DefaultDate (Date Pickers) with the first one being a little more complex.