cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Dynamically change if a DataCard is required based on table selection.

Hello Community!

I am relatively new to the PowerApps world but am looking to learn quickly and as I am working on a SharePoint form I ran into a small snag.  The datasource has a few required fields and several that are not required.  I figured I could go in behind the scenes and use an if statement to determine if the field is required based on the Selected.Value from my table.  See the formula below, it just doesn't seem to be making the fields required as expected!  Any advice that can be provided would be greatly appreciated!  The formula seems to work fine for visibility, but for the life of me I can't get it to work for "required."  I have tried re-creating the data source with the fields marked as both required and not required!

If(EscalationReason.Selected.Value = "Incorrect Item", true, false)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Re: Dynamically change if a DataCard is required based on table selection.

Hi @JacobMG ,

Could you please share a bit more about your scenario?

Do you want to change the Required property of Data cards in your Edit form based on the selected option?

Actually, the If formula you provided would only work for these Non-Required fields in your Edit form, it could not work for these Required/Mandatory fields from your SP List.

The fields required permission of the Edit form is essentially inherited from your SP List itself. If these fields are already marked as "Required" in your SP List, even though, you change Required property of this required field data card to false, you would still be prompted to provide a value for this required field when you submit your form data.