cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Smatera9681
Helper I
Helper I

Edit Form Custom

I am very new to Powerapps, I created a custom Form (Main Inventory Form.Jpg) in this form I have multiple text inputs and other Inputs that get patched to my SharePoint list when I click the submit button (Submit Button Code.jpg).  Once I click submit the fields get patched to the list without any issues and creates my item in my list, I have a field called Equipment Type, within this list I have a drop down that points to different Equipment types.  IE: Computer, iPad,Monitor etc.  I would like to be able to edit my particular Equipment Type item using my custom form when i click edit item. 

The issue i have is when I click edit item it opens the main page of my form (Main Inventory form.jpg)and not the item with its corresponding data to my custom form of that Equipment Type.

Computer Inventory Screen.jpg is what I would like to open when I click on edit item, and have the data from the list for that item brought into that custom form screen.

I would like to be able to click Edit Item and have powerapps open up my Equipment Type screen and bring in the data from that item based on that equipment type choice so it knows.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

6 REPLIES 6
RandyHayes
Super User
Super User

@Smatera9681 

In general, you will need to have your Equipment Screen know about the type you want to edit.  This can be referred to by whatever control on your main screen contains the value you want.  

So, on the Default property of your Dropdown for the equipment type...you need to refer to the control or field that contains that value you want.  So, if it is in the current SharePoint item, then:

SharePointIntegration.Item.EquipmentType

Or if it is just on the Edit form, then ControlName.Text (this is dependent on the control...TextInput assumed in this case).