cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Frequent Visitor

Editing a sharepoint list through my power app

Hi All

I am having a question concerning the editing of my data source(sharepoint list) through my Power App.

The app I am deploying is a stock inventory app for a client of ours. In this app they have a great overview of their inventory.

However, my support team sometimes needs to add/edit records to the data source(Sharepoint list).

Is it best practice to create an extra page (if possible only visible to certain users or with extra login verification) for editing the list or do i have to create a seperate app?

At the moment we always edit in the Sharepoint interface but I am trying to see if I can make it more efficiënt.

I'm pretty new to PowerApps btw.

Thank you in advance & kind regards

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

You can do it either way, but I would probably just add another screen to the existing app.  You can determine who the user is during the App OnStart and either show them the special screen to add/edit or the regular user screen.  

You can determine the current user with User().Email) and then test against one or more emails and Navigate to the correct page.

LRVinNC

------------------
Please click Accept as solution if my post helped you solve your issue. This will help others find it more readily. It also closes the item. If the content was useful in other ways, please consider giving it Thumbs Up.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Super User
Super User

You can do it either way, but I would probably just add another screen to the existing app.  You can determine who the user is during the App OnStart and either show them the special screen to add/edit or the regular user screen.  

You can determine the current user with User().Email) and then test against one or more emails and Navigate to the correct page.

LRVinNC

------------------