cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
zerou
Helper I
Helper I

Editing a text field?

Forgive me if this is a very simple task.

I'm trying to simply edit the pre-existing text for something on a canvas from "This Is The Message" to "Here Is The Message", but when I double click the text it says "This property has a formula, select to edit in the formula bar". But when I go to the formula bar, all I see is "Parent.DisplayName". However if I select the datacard on the canvas and go to advanced, there is a field labeled "DisplayName" with "This Is The Message" in quotes like this. I tried editing that field, and it immediately reflected the changes on the canvas. Now my question(s) is,

1) is this the correct way of editing field headers? Or will I break something by doing this?

2) Is there any way that I can save this as a "in progress" file and come back to it at any time and NOT publish it but still be able to test it? 

I'm very new to powerapps and have been thrust into fixing the work left behind by others. I

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
BCBuizer
Super User
Super User

Hi @zerou ,

Usually after publishing your app, you need to reload your browser page a couple of times before you see the new version, so that may have caused your issue.

Happy to see your issue is now resolved. Can you please mark the post that has the solution for the benefit of the community?

Did you like my post? Please give it a thumbs up! Did I resolve your issue? Please click Accept as Solution to close the topic and so other members of the community can find solutions more easily.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
BCBuizer
Super User
Super User

Hi @zerou ,

To edit properties of a DataCard, first you have to unlock it. You can do so by selecting it, going to the advanced tab on the right of the screen and then click the padlock icon to unlock:

BCBuizer_0-1660335479946.png