cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JoeChanUK

Entering date and time

Hi. I wonder if someone can give me some tips. I'm new to PowerApps, and have been trying to create a form which includes dates and times. In my mind, I would like the data to be stored on SharePoint, and a workflow will run so that when someone submits a form, it goes through an approval process. 

My question is about the time. What is the best way to do this? At the moment I have a field for hour and another field for minutes, so data validation needs to be performed on these two fields. Also, how can I get the time stored properly when the form is submitted and stored on SharePoint? For instance, is it possible to store the data as hh:mm? 

One last thing, am I still correct that it is currently not possible to link PowerApps to a shared Outlook calendar? 

Many thanks in advance for your help.

5 REPLIES 5
DavidJennaway
Solution Supplier
Solution Supplier

In general, I'd prefer to use DateTime field, as that will work with any date/time manipulation functions, and can be used by date/time controls that have built-in validation to ensure a valid date and time is entered.

That said, these fields necessarily have a date and a time component, so if you solely wanted a time, with no date component, then the existing controls aren't any use, so you could go for creating custom fields. If you want to do any time manipulation or comparison, I'd store the values numerically (probably one field for hours, and one for minutes), but if you don't need any manipulation or comparison you could store the values in a text field as hh:mm. Either way, you'd need to do some validation of the input

Hi, thanks for this. 

How do I store the date/time value using "date & time" format on SharePoint if I have date (I have a date picker on this), hour and mins as separate fields on PowerApps? 

Thanks.

v-xida-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @JoeChanUK .