cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Nate2182
Frequent Visitor

Error Handling - Patch/Submit Form (Multiple Forms)

Hello Community. I'm a new developer and am challenged with a situation. I have an App that has inputs from 4 different forms across 2 screens. Initially I tried SubmitForm(Form1);SubmitForm(Form2), etc but that gave me multiple rows for what I want all forms to be attributes of a single, new, record. Ideally I'd find a way to use this method but have it sumbitted as a single record because SubmitForm handles errors well. 

Second I've worked out how to Patch all of the form-fields as a single record but don't have any error handling like with SubmitForm. When I Preview the app and as an example, enter the same record ID twice, which is not allowed because my source requires unique values, it doesn't show me the error with the Patch. This error, along with other potential errors is a concern as I don't want users to go through the trouble of filling out all if the forms and thinking they submitted (via patch) but did not because of an undisclosed error.

Any help here would be appreciated. I've read of the Error function but can't seem to figure out how to piece it all together to show that the Patch didn't execute. 

Many Thanks,

-Nate

12 REPLIES 12

This is awesome. Thanks for sharing. Way beyond my current skills but I like seeing it and thinking through so I can learn from it. 

I was looking for your username yesterday.  I am building a new app and I came across a simpler solution. 

IfError(Patch(COVID19Checklist,SubmitData),Notify("There was an error with your submission, please retry",NotificationType.Error)&&Set(Error10,1));If(Error<1,Notify("Submission was successful",NotificationType.Success));If(Error10<1,Clear(SubmitData));Set(Error10,0)

I'm sure there is probably a better way to do this but at first glance this works.  I still need to test it out a bit more and hopefully refine the code a wee bit.