cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Excel formula in Powerapps

Hi everyone.

TL:DR -Building an attendance tracker / fire register app. Excel formulae and links queries

(I'm quite new to PowerApps but getting there slowly)

I built an electronic in/out system a few months back using excel with an add-in, a mobile phone and Flow.

It works OK but our ICT guys don't like the fact the system needs an account permanently logged in with an open Excel sheet for it to operate. They recommended PowerApps as a better alternative.

I can get a QR code to be read and update a table in excel.

What I can't work out is how to use (or replicate) the existing excel formula which determine whether you have just scanned in or out. Can I get PowerApps to determine this or should I just read from the Excel table?

My excel has 2 parts:

Scanned data in -Name (from QR code) and time stamp

In/Out list -formula driven based on the counts of scans (0=out, 1=in Odd=In Even=out)

The flow part copies the file to another folder and renames it with the date at the end of the day.

The second flow clears the table in the live register ready for use the next day.

Thanks all.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

Re: Excel formula in Powerapps

Hi @JayRussell 

Please see this article about Excel and PowerApps. if you are considering building a robust app that will work into the future and be used by more than one person. http://powerappsguide.com/blog/post/how-well-does-powerapps-cope-with-large-excel-files  the title of the article is  Excel - Reasons NOT to use Excel as a data source

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

Hi @JayRussell