Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mircea
Helper II
Helper II

Expected record value in a DataCard

Hello,

I am new in Power Apps and I started with some basic staff: I have a SharePoint List and I would like to add items in this list using a Power Apps app.

So I created the application from the SharePoint list. I've got the Edit Form in one screen with all SharePoints column encapsulated in Data Cards. Till now everything ok and easy.

I have one calculated column in SharePoint which concatenates 3 columns: Column4 = Concatenate (Column1, "_", Column2, "_", Column3). 

Column 1, 2 and 3 are type "choice" with single choice and the same choices for each of them (Choice1,Choice2,Choice3) .

So the items from column4 are looking like: Choice1_Choice2_Choice3 or Choice1_Choice1_Choice1 depending what is chosen in Column 2 and 3.

By default, Power apps created for each of the 3 column (1,2 and 3) a data card with  dropdown (single choice). I would like to add in Power apps just one data card (corresponding to column 1) with a dropbox and to have directly from Column 1 the concatenation Choice1_Choice2_Choise3 when I add anew item in the list.

What I did was to change the "SelectMultiple" property of the column 1 dropdown and I tried to put in the "Update" property of the DataCard: concat(Column1_DatacardValue.selectedItems, value, "_") but it keeps telling me that Update property requests "record" type and not text. How should I write the formula in Data Card Update property in order to be seen as a record?

Thanks

Mircea

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi @Mircea ,

Do you mean that:
1)you want the column to be choice type ?

2)display it in the format of "Choice1_Choice2_Choice3"?

3)update it in combo box?

Please notice that:

If the column is choice type, it can not display as this format  "Choice1_Choice2_Choice3" in sharepoint.

But yes, you could make it display in this format in powerapps.