cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Filter Choice look up field

I hope I can explain my issue clearly. I'm new in Power Apps so... here it is my issue.

I have 2 lists in SharePoint.

1. Master event catalog named 'Marketing_EventCatalog' .... aka Events

2. Guest check-in named 'Marketing_GuestCheckIn'... aka Guest

(I will use the aka names just to not write the whole name every time I'm referencing the list)

The Guest list has 2 columns.

1. Event Name - This is a lookup column to the Event list, it brings the ID, which the ID in the Event list is a concatenation of Event - Date - Market.

2. Guest Name

The Events list has 4 columns

1. Event Name 

2. Event Date

3. Event Market

4. isActive - This is a "Yes" or "No" choice.... CHOICE not True or False field.

In my Power App, I have an initial screen, to select the Market, with the name 'Dropdown1'.

This is my struggle. Every time a user wants to select a market in the Guest list, the dropdown is as big as all the Events IDs in the Events List. What I need is to Filter this combo box so it only shows events in the Market selected in the 'Dropdown1' and that are currently Active ("Yes" on column Active in Event list).

I have tried to change the formula in Items for the Event Name Lookup column to

Filter( Marketing_EventsCatalog, 'Event Market'.Value = Dropdown1.Selected.Value && Active.Value ="Yes").'Event ID'

And it actually works, it only shows me the events in the selected market that are currently active.

The issue is that after I tested it, when I save the record I go to my SharePoint and in the event field in the Guest list, is null as if I didn't choose anything.

I'm guessing it has to do that the options that I'm filtering are coming from the Event list and I'm trying to write a lookup column in the Guest List.

Please I need help.

Note, this is Canvas App (I don't know if that matters)

picPowerAppforum.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION