cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Filter Two Tables Based on ID

Hello everyone! I'm new to PowerApps and want to first say thanks for the wealth of knowledge shared in these forums.

I've setup an app using several tables, as a simple example:

Table1: ID, Student, Grade

Table2: ID, Math, Reading

The app gallery uses data from Table1. After choosing a gallery item, I would like to populate a "Label" where the text is a "score" from Table2 based on the selected gallery item. I'm not sure where to begin with this and I haven't been able to find any solutions to similar questions that worked for this situation. 

Thanks in advance for the support.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @loepan ,

How do you set up the relationship between the two Tables? Through ID column?

If you want to retrieve corresponding info from another table from one table, you must make sure you have set up a relationship between the two tables through column value.

I assume that the two Tables owns common ID column value, they are related through the ID column. Based on the needs that you mentioned, I think the LookUp function could achieve your needs.

Add a Label in your app, set the Text property to following (retrieve Math score):

LookUp(Table2, ID = Gallery1.Selected.ID, Math)

or

LookUp(Table2, ID = Gallery1.Selected.ID).Math

If you want to retrieve the Reading score from the Table2, please try the following formula:

LookUp(Table2, ID = Gallery1.Selected.ID, Reading)

Best regards, 

Community Support Team _ Kris Dai
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

Hi @loepan