Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hendi
Frequent Visitor

Filter a data source using TextSearchBox

Hello,

I'm new to PowerApps so please be patient. 🙂

I'm trying to figure out how to define a common Filter for a data source. Users should be able to insert some numbers (tracking IDs for parcels) so that the Gallery only shows entries containing those numbers.

So, I got at least 2 problems with this:

To start off easy I tried this for my gallery: 

Filter (parcel_; StartsWith (parcel_ID_; TextSearchBox1.Text)) 

If I enter this formula in the items tab my data source is lost and no entries will show up (by default: items = fx parcel_).

I also tried the default tab but an error accured.  "The Property is expecting record-values but this rule creates incompatible table-values." The error is shown in German so probably I translated it differently.

I don't know how to define the TextSearchBox1 at all. I browsed through all the E-Learning material but probably missed that part. Also it seems kind of outdated.

Do I even have to define anything or is it set correctly by default?

I created my App from a SharePoint data source.

If you need any further information I can probably provide some screenshots e.g.

Thank you so much for your help!

3 REPLIES 3
v-yamao-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi hendi,

I assume that column “parcel_ID_” should be a number column. While StartsWith function expects a Text value in the left. SO I am afraid that the code you are using “Filter (parcel_; StartsWith (parcel_ID_; TextSearchBox1.Text))” won’t work.

To test this issue, I add a Gallery control on the app and add a connection to a SharePoint list. Then set the Items property of the Gallery to Filter(List2,StartsWith(Title,TextInput1.Text)). The code works fine on my side.