Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jessi82315
Frequent Visitor

Filter function to return multiple approver's information

Hello all!

I am still new to PowerApps.

Currently I'm really building and learning and feel like I may have missed something so I'm hoping to get some help here.

I am building a approval app where the approval will be based on 2 conditions:

1. Department

2. $ amount

The Approvers table looks like below:

jessi82315_0-1611875789660.png

I was able to use lookup to find the approvers with no problem.

LookUp(table1, 'Department' = Res_Dept.Selected.Value && 'Approval Limit'> Value(Total_Cost.Text)).'Approvers Email'

Res_Dept is a combo box

Total_Cost is a regular input box

My problem is that some departments have "more than 1" approvers. 

I have the result stored in the "Default" section of the Data Card.

jessi82315_1-1611876052497.png

With Lookup this will work, but with filter since the result will be a table so it won't work...

I tried to add several box there and each one of them can store the first, second, third...etc. approves but it comes with a lot of problem.

(1. the delegation problem. my data is in Share point list 

2. I will need to create more column to store them all?

3. how to send email to all of them...)

Then I thought about "Collection". Maybe I could collect the table result from the filter function and use For All to send email?

But I haven't done enough research to learn about collection...(I'm reading/watching material now...)

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!!!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@gabibalaban  and @v-xiaochen-msft 

never mind.....I just figured I don't need to use ForAll to send email if I already have a concat string....haha!!!😂

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
gabibalaban
Dual Super User
Dual Super User

Hi @jessi82315 ,