cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Filter gallery items

I'm new to PowerApps and i'm trying to filter a gallery with multiple TextInput fields. I am having trouble using the fields to filter the gallery. Currently i have 5 fields in the gallery (New, Old, Name,Locatoin,and email). How can i use five TextInput fields to be able to filter the gallery?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Champion
Community Champion

Re: Filter gallery items

Hi @rodieremix,

If I understand correctly, you are interested in the same solution about how to search when a field is blank. With all 4 conditions in the filter, things stop working. 

I formatted your formula for readibility:

SortByColumns(
    Filter('Activation Requests', 
        If(!IsBlank(TextSearchBox1),
            TextSearchBox1.Text in Client_x0020_Name_x0028_s_x0029_ 
            Or 
            TextSearchBox1.Text in Client_x0020_Number_x0028_s_x002,
        true) && 

If(!IsBlank(PRSEmailVar),
            PRS_x0020_Email = PRSEmailVar,
            true
        ) && 

If(!IsBlank(StatusVar),
            Setup_x0020_Status.Value = StatusVar,
            true
        ) && 

If(!IsBlank(SuperVar),
            PRS_x0020_Supervisor.Email = User().Email,
            true
        )
    ),
SortVar, AscDesVar
)

I color coded the 4 conditions. It appears the red condition is problematic:

• The Or operator can be used two ways.
    • You can wrap Or() around all of your conditions and separate them by a comma:

Or(
              TextSearchBox1.Text in Client_x0020_Name_x0028_s_x0029_,
              TextSearchBox1.Text in Client_x0020_Number_x0028_s_x002
          ),
      true)
    • You can use || between two conditions:

TextSearchBox1.Text in Client_x0020_Name_x0028_s_x0029_ || TextSearchBox1.Text in Client_x0020_Number_x0028_s_x002,
      true)