cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Gaurav01
Regular Visitor

Filter with Search together

Hi, 

I am trying to put search in on of the gallery. However, there's already a filter function on it. How can I put both the functions together. 

My Current function is: Filter('sqlservetable' , XYZ=123) 

But I also need to put search so that users can find specific numbers while app is retrieving certain fields through a table. 

I tried to put:

Search(Filter('sqlservertable' , XYZ=123), searchbox_1.Text, XYZ)

But it is not working. It would be helpful if you could please let me know how does that work. I am new to PowerApp. Any help is  much appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support
Community Support

Re: Filter with Search together

Hi @Gaurav01 ,

Could you please share a bit more about the "XYZ" column in your data source? Is it a Number type column?

Based on the formula you provided, I think there is something wrong with it. In addition, I think the Value(searchbox_1.Text) could not also fix your issue.

The second argument of the Search function is required to provide a Text value rather than a number value. The third argument of the Search function is required to provided a Text type column (should be wrapped with double quotes "" ).

As an alternative solution, I think the AddColumns function could achieve your needs. Please consider modify your formula as below:

Search(
       AddColumns(Filter('sqlservertable' , XYZ=123), "TextXYZ", Text(XYZ)),
       searchbox_1.Text, 
       "TextXYZ"
)

Note: Please consider set the "Data row limit for Non-delegable queries" option to maximum value -- 2000 within Advanced settings of App settings of your app.

Best regards,

Community Support Team _ Kris Dai
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Super User
Super User

@Gaurav01