cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JAYates1995
Frequent Visitor

Filtering a gallery using 2 filters

I am very new to powerapps and am trying to create a way to browse a sharepoint list within an app. At the minute I have a filter set so users can search keywords in the title of items in the list however I would also like to have a dropdown where users can filter using categories. At the moment I can only figure out how to have one filter. Is there a way to filter the gallery using the text search box first but if that is empty then to filter via the dropdown? 

Below is the formula I am currently using to filter using the "title" as the logical  test :-

SortByColumns(Filter([@'Frequently Asked Questions'],Text(TextSearchBox1) in Title) , "Title", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

thank you. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AMoon
Advocate I
Advocate I

There are multiple different ways to combine filters and searches but the most direct answer to your question is that you can have an If statement that checks to see if the search box is blank - and if so then uses a different formula. 

If(IsBlank(TextSearchBox1.Text),
//use the category filter

SortByColumns(Filter([@'Frequently Asked Questions'],Category = Category.Selected *you need to fill this in* , "Title", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending)),

//use the search 

SortByColumns(Filter([@'Frequently Asked Questions'],Text(TextSearchBox1) in Title) , "Title", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

)

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
AMoon
Advocate I
Advocate I

There are multiple different ways to combine filters and searches but the most direct answer to your question is that you can have an If statement that checks to see if the search box is blank - and if so then uses a different formula. 

If(IsBlank(TextSearchBox1.Text),
//use the category filter