cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
thutzler
Regular Visitor

Filtering and Sorting a gallery

I am new to PowerApps so please be patient with me.  🙂  I am working with a SharePoint list which is used for logging training sessions.  The gallery shows a record ID number called ID, a Text field called Skill, Created date, and Text Field called location.

I can search based on record ID number successfully.  For this I have the following in the Gallery Item:

If(IsBlank(TextSearchBox1.Text), Logs, Filter(Logs, TextSearchBox1.Text in Text(ID))) 

I want to also be able to Sort Ascending and Descending by ID field by clicking on the icon.

I have spent several days going over all the entries and trying out all the solutions (sort, sortby columns, ect., but everytime I try any of the solutions all the records disappear from my gallery.  What am I missing?  Any suggestion would be very appreciated.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
CarlosFigueira
Power Apps
Power Apps

You'll want to use the SortByColumns function for that. The first parameter of that function takes a "table", which can be either a data source directly, or the result of any other expression that also returns a table. It turns out that your If expression does return a table (since you can set it to the Items property of the gallery), so you should be able to use something along the lines of:

SortByColumns(
    If(
        IsBlank(TextSearchBox1.Text),
        Logs,
        Filter(Logs, TextSearchBox1.Text in Text(ID))),
    "ID",
    If(sortDescending, Descending, Ascending))

Where "sortDescending" is a variable that you can toggle by setting the following expression in the ascending/descending icon:

UpdateContext({sortDescending: !sortDescending})

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
CarlosFigueira
Power Apps
Power Apps