cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Filtering dropdown choices based on another droppdown selected value

Hi all,

I'm completely new to PowerApps and I got stuck on dropdown issue. The thing is - I have a form that is connected to a Sharepoint list. There are several dropdowns but the first dropdown (System) with choices (OKbase, PowerKey, Money S3) needs to filter choices in another dropdown (Role).

The Role dropdown has following choices by default:

Work Equipment
Team Leader
Manager (Salaries)
HR
HR + Salaries
Administrator

Line Manager

What I aim for is to have following Role choices if OKbase is selected in System dropdown:

Work Equipment
Team Leader
Manager (Salaries)
HR
HR + Salaries
Administrator

And below Role choices if PowerKey System is selected:

Line Manager
HR

I'd really appreciate any help, thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
dinusc
Microsoft
Microsoft

You will have to define the relationship between those values (which Roles belong to which System). For example, you could have another SharePoint list with a text column and a choice column. An example of entry in that list would be: Text="Power Key", Choices=Line Manager, HR. This tells that the Power Key has 2 values (according to your example).

This way the app will know what choices belong to what value.

After having that table, You could have the "System" ComboBox populated as you already have and then use "Filter" function to populate the "Roles" ComboBox (see this page for more details: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerapps/maker/canvas-apps/functions/function-filter-lookup).

Hope this helps.

Hey @Anonymous I got you covered with this video on PowerApps Cascading DropdownsSmiley Very Happy

Shane - Microsoft MVP, YouTube, and PowerApps Consulting for when you are in a bind to get this fixed quickly. And finally we now have PowerApps Training
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi there @Shanescows!