cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Helper I
Helper I

Flow and PowerApps : Pass Parameters

The first image below is a Power Apps app which includes a button intended to launch a Flow and pass the values of 5 parameters to it.  The Flow is supposed to update a single row in an Excel file in a OneDrive folder.

The second image is the Flow within which 5 dynamic variables have been defined.

The expression associated with the button is 

'PowerAppsbutton-2'.Run(Label1.Value,Dropdown1.Selected.Value,TextInput2.Value,TextInput3.Value,TextInput4.Value)

When evaluated, the expression generates 5 errors each indicating "invalid input".   

The Flow is a Update Row function targeting a known good Excel file in a known good OneDrive folder.

QUESTION: What is wrong with my expression?

All help is greatly appreciated.  I'm new to PowerApps.

Cheers,

Bob G

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Helper I
Helper I

Re: Flow and PowerApps : Pass Parameters

Mabel,

Thanks for responding to my post and sorry for the delay in getting back to you.   As it turned out, my expression was fine.   The problem was one those obscure behaviors found in the undocumented aspects of PowerApps and Flow.   I eventually resorted to a MSoft Support call which provided the answer which was as follows...

I happened to be leaving my target Excel spreadsheet open when I would run my flow and, when open, it was "locked" from interoperating with Flow!   The fix was to be sure that, when I wanted to run and test my Flow, I had to be sure that my spreadsheet was closed.  

Note:  It is natural for a user to want to observe changes to a given spreadsheet when testing a Flow against it so the intuative thing to do is leave it open.    I must have had it closed once because my flow did run one time then surprisingly stopped running.  I must have left the spreadsheet open from that point until I spoke with support.

Thx again for your response.