cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cmalm
Helper II
Helper II

ForAll with UpdateIf to Perform Collection Batch Update

I have a collection named "masterConeCollection" that has an "index" column and an "mastAct1PK" column.

I have another collection named "coneCollection" with an "act1PK" column that is generated from a gallery with a "TextInput3".

As you can see in the below code. I want to update the FirstN records that have a blank mastAct1PK column value with the act1PK in the user selected row found in coneCollection.

ForAll(
    RenameColumns(FirstN(Filter(masterConeCollection, IsBlank(mastAct1PK)), Value(TextInput3.Text)),
        "index", "filteredIndex"
    ),
    UpdateIf(masterConeCollection, 
        index = filteredIndex,
        {mastAct1PK: ThisItem.act1PK}
    )
)

The above code works, but writes over all records in the masterConeCollection. It does however write the proper amount of records defined by TextInput3. I need it to only write the FirstN amount of records that have a blank mastAct1PK value.

Please help and let me know if you have any questions. This one is complicated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Turns out I forgot about on visible code for the screen that deleted items from that collection when creating it. The code works fine after I added and if statement that references a last screen global variable.

Thanks for the help though. Always like to see others take.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
WarrenBelz
Super User
Super User

Hi @cmalm ,

Although your logic looks fine, have a go as below at defining the ForAll after the FirstN

With(
   {
      colCone:
      RenameColumns(
         FirstN(
            Filter(
               masterConeCollection, 
               IsBlank(mastAct1PK)
            ), 
            Value(TextInput3.Text)
         ),
         "index", 
         "filteredIndex"
      )
   },
   ForAll(
      colCone,
      UpdateIf(
         masterConeCollection,