cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Regular Visitor

Force reset of filter of collection based on dropdown selection change

Hay all, I'm pretty new at PowerApps and I'm stuck on a problem and hope someone can toss me a bone here.

I have a simple collection filter 

Filter(colLocations,ZoneLeader="Yes")

based on a radio button selection to populate a ComboBox with items.

The Radio button selection runs an OR function in Radiobutton OnChange based on if "This OR That" has been selected in Dropdown1.

I would like to "re-run" this filter based on if Dropdown1 is changed again OR if Radiobutton1 selection is changed to give me a different filter of items, but so far I've only been able to reset the filter if I change dropdown1 and change the Radiobutton selection.

Not sure if this is possible, but I've been told pretty much Anything is possible with PowerApps, except having it fetch me a new cup of coffee. I'd very much appreciate any assistance if possible.

Thank you for looking!
Will

8 REPLIES 8
Super User III
Super User III

@wwallace86 

I understand that the "FetchCoffee" connector is soon going to be in beta, so hang on to your seat!

Can you share more about your OnChange formula where you are "Or"ing and how this fits in.

In general, you do not need a collection for what you are doing and your filter will be dynamic based on the conditions you want.  You stated that you are using this Collection for a Combobox, is that its sole purpose?

As an example, your Items property for the Combobox can easily be the following:

Filter(yourDataSource, 
   yourCriteriaBasedOnTheOtherControlsInYourApp
)

One thing people don't realize so much is that your Combobox in this case can act then as a datasource (or record source in this situation) and will have all the relevant information - AND be dynamic based on your source.

I hope this is helpful for you.

_____________________________________________________________________________________